The Sunrise Series

The Sunrise Series is a collection of my early work which includes four books of poems written between 1975 – 1985, while I was growing up in Florida attending high school and college.  Most of them were written on bits of paper, old letters and greeting cards given to people I once knew and loved.  There are special sections devoted to some of my first loves.  When you are young, first love is so intense and hurts so much more when it ends.  My poems stayed hidden in an old, green foot locker for many years because I thought they were too personal and I was afraid to let them be read them – afraid of what people thought about them or me.  After 9/11 I let go of that fear and began the journey to publish books.  The books are organized so that each chapter of the book tells a story, and each book tells a story and all four books together tell a story and I would encourage you to read them that way.


Selected poems from the Sunrise Series books won the 2008 POW! Award for Outstanding Poetry Collection.


For The People…and Other Lovers, Friends and Foes

A collection of poems written for people I once knew and loved, and maybe a few I sometimes hated.  Most are my earliest poems written from my gut.

Click Here to Read Sample Poem & Reviews




Remember Summer

The best part of growing up in Florida was summer and Beach Week and boys, especially surfers.  It is the best season of the year to take a swim, get a tan, and fall in (and out of) love. Most of these poems were written from my heart.





Rhyme Without Reason

A collection of all my poems that rhyme.  A few of these poems are also in the other three books.  These poems challenged me to use my mind.






This Image Inside

Most of these poems were written in my poetry classes at University of Florida where I began to really explore my writing.  A few of them came from my soul.